• 107328  Infos

Mya Than Tint

    Mya Than Tintis widely acknowledged as one of the greatest Burmese writers and tranalator of the 20th century.


    Mya Than Tint was born in May 23, 1929, Myaing, Pakokku Township Myanmar. His birth name is Mya Than. He started his writing career at 1948. His first short novel is “Refugee” (1949) in “Tara (Star) Magazine”.He introduce the youths to World Greatest Classic like ''[War and Peace'' , ''Gone With the Wind'' , ''Dream of Red Mansion'' ,etc by translating into Burmese. He also write novels on his own. His masterpiece is ''Dataung ko kyaw ywe, Mee Pinle ko phyat Mi''(I will cross mountains of knives and the burning sea) (1973) . He also wrote the Historical documentaries like “Breeze on Taung-Ta-Man Lake”.He won the national literature award five times for translation and Peace(1972) , Gone With the Wind(1978) , Dream of the Red Chamber(1988) , of Joy(1992) and Love(1995).He died in Yangon on 18th February ,1998.


    His famous own writting novels are
    • Dataung ko kyaw ywe, Mee Pinle ko phyat Mi(I will cross mountains of knives and the burning sea) (1973) .
    • Anyataya Yoke Pon Lwa (Images of ordinary Burmese people)
    • Like Kae Toke Mya Nanda (Run with me , Mya Nanda) (1960)
    • Taung Taman Shwe Inn Ka Laynyin Saw Toke (Breeze on Taung-Ta-Man Lake) (1999)


    His most famous translations are
    • “Sait Nink Nyein Chan Yae” War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
    • “Lay Yuu Thon Thon” Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
    • “Pari Kya Sone Kan” The Fall of Paris by Ilya Ehrenburg
    • “Shwe Pyi Taw Myaw Tie Wai” The Far Pavilions by M. M. Kaye
    • “Lay Lwint Thu” The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger
    • “Mainma Toe Akawn” The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir
    • “Kan Saung Ne Einmet” Dream of the Red Chamber by Cao Xueqin
    • “Thuka Myo Taw” City of Joy by Dominique Lapierre
    • “A Chit Moe Kaung Kin” Beyond Love by Dominique Lapierre